Watch Video: Rassie Erasmus goes wild; gets swamped by players, coaches and fans

When they held on to defeat the World Cup hosts France 29-28 in Paris on Sunday, the Springboks earned one of the greatest Test match victories in history. Here’s how Rassie Erasmus and the team celebrated the outcome.

The one-point difference means that France is officially out of the World Cup in their own country, and it puts the Springboks on a collision course with longtime rivals England the following weekend.

But first, let’s take a look back at how the non-playing Springboks, the coaches, and some spectators erupted in jubilation as the final whistle blew.

The non-playing Springboks rushed into the coaches box to grab hold of Rassie Erasmus and hugged him. He also spent a moment in the coaching box with Felix Jones and Jacques Nienaber.

READ MORE: France vs South Africa referee Ben O’Keeffe sent unusual message by Rassie Erasmus after huge call in Springboks loss

ALSO: France player ratings vs Springboks | Rugby World Cup 2023


Sunday, 10 September – Springboks beat Scotland 18-3 (Stade Velodrome, Marseille).
Sunday, 17 September – Springboks beat Romania 76-0 (Stade de Bordeaux, Bordeaux).
Saturday, 23 September – Springboks lost 13-8 to Ireland (Stade de France, Paris).
Sunday, 1 October – Boks beat Tonga 49-18 (Stade Velodrome, Marseille).

Sunday, 15 October – Springboks beat France 29-28 (Stade de France, Paris).

Weekend of 21/22 October – Springboks v England (Semi-final)
Saturday, 28 October – Final


Springboks – 15 Damian Willemse, 14 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Cheslin Kolbe, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff.
Subs: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 Ox Nche, 18 Vincent Koch, 19 RG Snyman, 20 Kwagga Smith, 21 Faf de Klerk, 22 Handre Pollard, 23 Willie le Roux.

France – 15 Thomas Ramos, 14 Damian Penaud, 13 Gael Fickou, 12 Jonathan Danty, 11 Louis Bielle-Biarrey, 10 Matthieu Jalibert, 9 Antoine Dupont (c), 8 Gregory Aldritt, 7 Charles Ollivon, 6 Anthony Jelonch, 5 Thibaud Flament, 4 Cameron Woki, 3 Uini Antonio, 2 Peato Mauvaka, 1 Cyril Baille.
Subs: 16 Pierre Bourgarit, 17 Reda Wardi, 18 Dorian Aldegheri, 19 Romain Taofifenua, 20 Francois Cros, 21 Sekou Macalou, 22 Maxime Lucu, 23 Yoram Moefana.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button