All you need to know about South Africa vs Tonga: WHEN,WHERE,REFEREE,SQUAD, ……..

The Springboks will play their fourth and final Rugby World Cup Pool B match against Tonga this weekend. Everything you need to know.

This Saturday, Tonga will be the Springboks’ opponent in their fourth and final Rugby World Cup Pool B game.

The Springboks will be looking to avenge their 13-8 loss to Ireland last Saturday in Paris.

Tonga is fighting for pride and is no longer in the playoffs after losing their first two games.

When is it?

South Africa will play Tonga on Sunday, 1 October with the match kicking off at 21:00 (SA time).

Where is it?

At the Stade de Marseille, the illustrious location where the football team Olympique de Marseille plays. It served as a venue for games at the 1938 and 1998 FIFA World Cups as well as the 2007 Rugby World Cup, where it staged two quarterfinals.

It has a capacity of 67 847.

Who is the referee?

This fixture will be managed by Luke Pearce. The British official, who made his debut in Japan four years ago, is working his second World Cup as a referee.

How to watch on TV

Both SuperSport and SABC 2 will screen the match live.

Can I still get tickets?

Tickets for the match are still available (as of Tuesday, 26 September) and can be purchased via the official Rugby World Cup ticket portal.

Have they played before?

South Africa and Tonga have played each twice before – in 1997 and at the 2007 Rugby World Cup. The Springboks won on both occasions, 74-10 and 30-25, respectively.


South Africa‘s pool fixtures and results

Beat Scotland 18-3

Beat Romania 76-0

Lost to Ireland 13-8

Tonga’s pool fixtures and results

Lost to Ireland 59-16

Lost to Scotland 45-17

Will play Romania on Sunday, 8 October

South Africa squad

Forwards: Steven Kitshoff, Vincent Koch, Frans Malherbe, Ox Nche, Trevor Nyakane, Bongi Mbonambi, Handre Pollard (replaced Malcolm Marx), Eben Etzebeth, Jean Kleyn, Marvin Orie, RG Snyman, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Siya Kolisi (captain), Kwagga Smith, Marco van Staden, Duane Vermeulen, Jasper Wiese, Deon Fourie, Franco Mostert

Backs: Faf de Klerk, Jaden Hendrikse, Cobus Reinach, Grant Williams, Manie Libbok, Damian Willemse, Damian de Allende, Andre Esterhuizen, Jesse Kriel, Kurt-Lee Arendse, Cheslin Kolbe, Willie le Roux, Makazole Mapimpi, Canan Moodie

Tonga squad

Forwards: Siegfried Fisi’ihoi, Feao Fotuaika, Tau Koloamatangi, Paula Ngauamo, Siua Maile, Samiuela Moli, Ben Tameifuna, Paula Latu, Sosefo ‘Apikotoa, Adam Coleman, Leva Fifita, Samiuela Lousi, Sitiveni Mafi, Vaea Fifita, Tanginoa Halaifonua, Semisi Paea, Solomone Funaki, Sione Vailanu, Sione Havili Talitui

Backs: Sonatane Takulua, Augustine Pulu, Manu Paea, William Havili, Otumaka Mausia, Pia Ahki, Malakai Fekitoa, George Moala, Afusipa Taumoefolau, Fine Inisi, Solomone Kata, Salesi Piutau, Kyren Taumoefolau, Anzelo Tuitavuki

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button